Log in

Adirondack Literacy Council

The Adirondack Literacy Council (formerly known as the Iroquois Reading Council) is continuing to focus on supporting educators as readers and writers in order to create a culture of literacy in classrooms and communities. We are excited to announce our local council has expanded to include the following counties in NYS: Washington, Saratoga, Hamilton, Warren, and Essex.

Join us monthly as we have experts in the field share their literate lives and provide opportunities for professional growth. All professional learning opportunities are free to members. These workshops are open to educators across the country. NYS educators will be provided with CTLE certificates for professional learning credit.

If you are not a member yet please visit the Adirondack Literacy Council on the New York State Reading Association website. A one-year subscription is $25.00. There is a reduced price of $15.00 for retired educators and student teachers. A membership to ALC also entitles educators to participate in all NYSRA events for no additional fee.

If you are a current member or nonmember and would like to attend any of the events please fill out the Google Form and a Zoom link will be sent to you prior to the event.

Local Council Information:

Co-Presidents: Kerry Babson & Maggie Kelly

President-Elect: Maggie Kelly

Vice-president: Abby Brigham

Treasurer: Debra Mattison

Secretary: Mary Ann Flanders

Membership Chairs: Stan Cianfarano & Shelley Fenton

Immediate Past President: Shelley Fenton


Warning: browser cookies disabled. Please enable them to use this website.

Select membership level

* Mandatory fields
* Membership level

Use the search box below to find what you're looking for, using key word search.

The New York State Reading Association is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. 

Mail to: P.O. Box 874, Albany, NY 12201-0874

Contact Us via email at

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software