Conference 2013 (Last Year)

Literacy for All Learners

OCTOBER 27 - 29, 2013

Hilton Albany, Albany, NY

 

Educators from across the state gathered in Albany to consider the question: As we teach to the Common Core Learning Standards, how can we meet the needs of the diverse learners in our classrooms and libraries? The three day conference featured nationally known speakers including

Sunday
 

Sandra Athans http://www.sandraathans.com/index.php

Sara Holbrook http://www.saraholbrook.com/

Jill Lewis-Spector http://www.reading.org/Libraries/Board/Jill_Lewis_Spector_bio_website.pdf

Coleen Paratore http://www.coleenparatore.com/

Karen Romano Young http://www.karenromanoyoung.com/

Michael Salinger http://www.michaelsalinger.com/

Jennifer Serravallo http://www.jenniferserravallo.com/

Margaret Sheehy http://www.albany.edu/reading/margaret_sheehy.php

 

Monday

Richard Allington http://web.utk.edu/~tpte/faculty/rallington.html

Donald Bear http://www.donaldbear.com/

Joseph Bruchac http://www.josephbruchac.com/       

Lesa Cline-Ransome http://www.lesaclineransome.com/

Kathleen Hinchman http://soe.syr.edu/about/member.aspx?fac=6

Sara Holbrook http://www.saraholbrook.com/

Adam Gidwitz http://www.adamgidwitz.com/

Peter Johnston http://www.albany.edu/reading/peter_johnston.php

Jessica Loy http://www.jessicaloy.net/

Susan Beth Pfeffer http://susanbethpfeffer.blogspot.com/

James Preller http://www.jamespreller.com/

Laura Robb http://www.lrobb.com/web/guest/home

Michael Salinger http://www.michaelsalinger.com/

Cris Tovani http://tovanigroup.com/            

Marvin Terban http://www.scholastic.com/teachers/contributor/marvin-terban

Karen Romano Young http://www.karenromanoyoung.com/

 

Tuesday

Ann Burg http://www.annburg.com/

Debbie Dadey http://www.debbiedadey.com/

Jacqueline Davies http://www.jacquelinedavies.net/

Stephanie Harvey http://stephanieharvey.com/

Michelle McAnuff-Gumbs http://www.strose.edu/academics/schoolofeducation/literacy/meet_the_faculty/article3003

Anne McGill-Franzen http://web.utk.edu/~tpte/faculty/amcgillfranzen.html

Geoff Rodkey http://geoffrodkey.com/

Donna Scanlon http://www.albany.edu/reading/donna_scanlon.php

Marvin Terban http://www.scholastic.com/teachers/contributor/marvin-terban

Also scheduled to appear are authors Ann Burg, Jacqueline Davies, Susan Beth Pfeffer, Lesa Cline-Ransome, Geoff Rodkey, and Adam Gidwitz and many other speakers including state and local education experts.